Chant Cafe

Chant Cafe
Date: 
Repeats every week every Wednesday until Thu May 25 2017 except Wed Feb 15 2017, Wed Mar 01 2017, Wed Mar 15 2017, Wed Mar 29 2017, Wed Apr 05 2017, Wed Apr 12 2017, Wed Apr 19 2017, Wed May 03 2017, Wed May 17 2017.
Wednesday, February 8, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Wednesday, February 22, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Wednesday, March 8, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Wednesday, March 22, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Wednesday, April 26, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Wednesday, May 10, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Wednesday, May 24, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Location: 
Christ the King Parish: 8510 Wornall Rd, Kansas City, MO 64114

Why a Chant Café?

The Second Vatican Council (1962-65), considered sacred music to be the greatest of all arts in the Church’s patrimony. In other words, the Church values sacred music even more than the transcendent, soaring architecture of medieval cathedrals or the achingly beautiful sculptures and paintings of the Renaissance.

 

What will I experience at Chant Café?

  • 7:30-8pm:  Fr. Andrew Mattingly will teach on various topics regarding sacred music, the structure of the Mass, etc. Fresh coffee and tea will be available.
  • 8-9:00 pm: Katie Schmitz, music director at Christ the King parish (currently wrapping up a doctorate in sacred music), will teach how to sing Gregorian chant. One goal of this part of Chant Café is to form a sacred music schola to sing at City on a Hill liturgies, such as Tuesdays at the Blvd, the Candle-life Mass, etc.

All skill levels welcome!

Questions? Contact Fr. Mattingly: mattingly@diocesekcsj.org

 

 

 

Upcoming Events

Softball 2017

May 29, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Mid-America Sports Complex: 20000 Johnson Dr, Shawnee, KS 66218

Reservoir

June 1, 2017 - 6:30pm to 8:00pm
St. Peter's Catholic Church: 815 Meyer Blvd, Kansas City, MO

4th Annual Pitching for Priests Tailgate Party and Softball Game

KCK v. KC-St. Joe!
June 2, 2017 - 3:30pm to 9:00pm
Community America Ball Park (T-Bones Stadium): 1800 Village West Pkwy, Kansas City, KS 66111
  •  
  • 1 of 146
Category: